Talk 85 – [Review] The Maze Runner Triology

So, today I just finished read one of James Dashner novels triology they are The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, and The Death Cure. I don’t buy the physic books, but I read it from ibook. First of all I want to inform you that I started read this novels in my exam week. So, my exam week started since last Friday and in the same time I started to read The Maze Runner. And I have no idea what will happen with my exam result because 80% of my brain filled with Newt, well, I hope it will not be that bad, hehe 😀

I watched the movie before I read the novels. I truly in love with the movie, I even watched it seven times in two days. Some people say that it’s another Hunger Game or Divergent kind of movie, but I don’t really agree, well, yeah it’s all about teenager that surviving their life like the other movies but it way more cooler, I think, with all the boys in it, haha.. But, seriously the movie doesn’t have that kind of lovey dovey things like in Hunger Game or Divergent, which is more make sense, because how could be you have time for that kind of stuff when your life is in the edge of the cliff. It doesn’t mean I don’t like Hunger Game or Divergent, I love both of it, I just want to say that every story is different and I hate it when someone say one story copying another story. That kind of people is totally slinthead. The only thing that can make the story look the same is because they are based from YA Novels Fantasy, and it is how YA novels fantasy work.

My opinion became stronger after I had read The Maze Runner triolgy. And also, I realized that The Maze Runner movie is totally different from the book. Like, everything is almost different. The movie said that the gladers already lives in the glade for three years, but the truth is the book said they lives there for two years. The glade never rains, but it is rainy hard in the movie. Some character’s personalities are kind of different too. Like Alby, in the book Alby is not that kind, he’s impatience and kind of rude. The way he died in the movie even different from the book. How they escaped from the maze also completely different. I guess if I read the book before I watch the movie, I will not like the movie that much, I probably just keep complaining about it. However, the movie had greatest casts ever, like Dylan O’Brien, Thomas Brodie Sangsters, and Ki Hong Lee, they are perfect!

My favorite character in the story is Newt. Gosh I love him so much, and Thomas Sangster is the perfect actor to play Newt character. And you have to know how my heart completely shattered with Newt’s fated in the book. Seriously, I felt like knife stab my chest, and I felt just like when I broke up with my boyfriend all over again. And that was really bad, I even felt I don’t have passion to continue reading the book anymore. I even still feel sad right now. How can be James Dashner did that to his best character in the book? It is worst than Finnick’s fate in the Mocking Jay. Okay, my heart broke.

What I love about the story is how every character accompany each other and they are going through all the tests, all the challenges, and sorrow together. Just like Minho and Newt, they are fight and insulted each other but at the end of the story we can see how they care of each other, how Minho make Newt as his first priority above everything. And we can feels the pain and how hard it is for Thomas to going through all the betrayals he got, but he keeps trying to trust his friends and to save their life without hesitate. It’s really about friendship and brothers and sacrifices and also how we need to trust each other. These novels are worth to read, James Dashner did a really great work. And the movie should do the same and the producer should do more coordinating with James Dashner so the movie will be more matched with the book.

It was a very great experience to read these books. I will miss the characters and will never get over of my sorrow for my beloved Newt. I knew a novel is really great when I finish read the last page of it, and I can feels something thrills and regret at the same time in my chest knowing that I finally reach the end of the story. And I felt it in The Maze Runner Triology. So, it’s not a waste to read it in my exam week, haha

Leave a Reply

