Talk 93 – Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

tqMFF7UQ

It’s been a long time since I talk about books, it’s not quite a review, because I will not talk about the story line or anything like that. I just want to write my opinion about the ending of this novel ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes.

I just finished this novel and the story really effects me a lot. It’s spoiler alert!

First of all, I want to make clear that Jojo Moyes is such an incredible writer. I totally immersed in the story. Every moments that happens in the book leave great impressions. The characters feel real and unique. The storyline flowing nicely.

But, I’m not quite sure, is it a right thing to write a story just like it is in Me Before You. I think it’s really important for a writer to think about the impact they will give to a reader from the story they write.

There will always be people with different thoughts and opinions about the moral of the story from such a big-hit novel. And I feel that I really have to say this.

I don’t care if Jojo Moyes wants to show a harsh realities in life, but I believe what I believe. That is a writer who decided to write such sensitive issues about illness, depressions, things about life, and death is responsible to give hope for people who is in the same condition of the character in the story. 

What I mean is what if a quadriplegic, just like Will, read this novel, and the moral of the story  he/she get from it, is that having a caring and loving family that supports you is not enough reason for you to stay alive? How suck it will be?

So, yeah, that’s all I want to say.

Leave a Reply

